✑ How to Paint Like the Old Masters: Watson-Guptill 25Th Anniversary Edition pdf ✓ Auteur Joseph Sheppard – Larringtonlifecoaching.co

How to Paint Like the Old Masters: Watson-Guptill 25Th Anniversary Edition chapter 1 How to Paint Like the Old Masters: Watson-Guptill 25Th Anniversary Edition, meaning How to Paint Like the Old Masters: Watson-Guptill 25Th Anniversary Edition, genre How to Paint Like the Old Masters: Watson-Guptill 25Th Anniversary Edition, book cover How to Paint Like the Old Masters: Watson-Guptill 25Th Anniversary Edition, flies How to Paint Like the Old Masters: Watson-Guptill 25Th Anniversary Edition, How to Paint Like the Old Masters: Watson-Guptill 25Th Anniversary Edition 876a446f99794 Generations Of Artists Have Learned From How To Paint Like The Old Masters, The Classic Volume That Explores The Techniques Used By The Great Artists Of The Th And Th Centuries Now Watson Guptill Proudly Presents The Th Anniversary Edition Each Chapter Is Devoted To A Different Old MasterDrer, Titian, Veronese, Caravaggio, Vermeer, Hals, Rubens, And Rembrandtand Is Divided Into Two Sections The First Part Describes The Artists Techniques And Discusses How Artists Can Incorporate These Methods Within Their Own Personal Style The Second Part Is A Full Color Demonstration Author Joseph Sheppard Traces The Artists Working Sequence, Colors And Mediums, Surfaces And Tools, As He Creates A New Painting With Todays Resurgence Of Interest In Old Master Techniques, This Unique, Practical, And Inspiring Book Is Sure To Teach Countless Artists Exactly How To Paint Like The Old MastersJoseph Sheppard Is A Renowned Artist Whose Work Has Appeared In Various Galleries, Including The National Portrait Gallery And The Carnegie Institute Museum Of Art He Studied At The Maryland Institute Of Art And Has Written Numerous Guides On Art, Including How To Paint Like The Old Masters, Drawing The Figure, And Anatomy A Complete Guide For Artists


4 thoughts on “How to Paint Like the Old Masters: Watson-Guptill 25Th Anniversary Edition

  1. says:

    This is an enjoyable and potentially rather useful book, if you have the right expectations about what you re getting here Unfortunately, both the cover and the text on the back cover according to time honored principles of advertising, I guess make grossly exaggerated claims about this in the book itself, the author is much honest.First of all, you should have some painting experience already, or this will probably be quite useless The author will then walk you through several self assigned painting exercises in a light, not very detailed style, using mainly pictures and not many words Each of these was inspired by an old master, and the author bases his procedure on how he thinks the master in question could have painted Of course, most of this is purely conjectural and nothing is being reconstructed as the cover absurdly claims , and how would one do this anyway, when no one knows anything for sure about how the old masters really painted Also, not all of the author s attempts look equally successful to me, and I don t think you would mistake any of his demonstrations for the real thing if you found it in your attic.But if you don t take the whole thing too seriously, then I think the book works quite well I certainly enjoyed it and found several interesting ideas in it that I might use in my own feeble efforts some day.For me, this is a 5 star book, but I am taking one star off for the shameless attempts to advertise it as something which it clearly isn t.


  2. says:

    This is an excellent book if you have a little bit of painting experience and are looking to carve out the shadows and highlights Goes through a step by step account of each master s style I definitely recommend this if you are a painting or an art student.


  3. says:

    The first thing that struck me as I browsed the book is the woeful quality of many of the images, with some being out of focus This problem is also apparent in the other two books by Watson Guptill that I think compliment this one well Kreutz Problem Solving for Beginners and Cateura Oil Painting Secrets from a Master If you are looking to paint in a realistic style in the vein of Caravaggio, Rembrandt etc then you will find plenty of information in these three books.However all three deal with technique and for me the ability to discern the brushstrokes is a critical part of the learning exercise i.e is the artist using impasto or thinned paint With these images it s impossible to tell Hopefully WG will revisit each of these books and bring the images up to scratch.Joseph Sheppard provides how to s allowing the reader to emulate the techniques of Durer, Titian, Veronese, Caravaggio, Rubens, Hals, Rembrandt and Vermeer Information on how to create specific paint mediums used by that particular artist, mixing paints, painting surfaces etc He makes no claims that any of the information offered is absolute As well as conducting his own studies on how to achieve a certain painterly effect he has also drawn on technical information published by the various art experts listed in the bibliography.Results of recent studies of old master paintings indicating that the current thinking on techniques might be wrong The old masters would typically have a team of apprentices working alongside them, mixing paint, painting parts of the painting that the master was probably too bored to bother with as well as good training for the apprentice etc The Master Apprentice setup allowed for a continuous stream of knowledge being passed along the generations However as oil paint technology advanced, in particular the ability to buy premixed paints off the shelf, the painter no longer needed a team of apprentices He could pretty much get by on his own Hence there was no longer anyone for the painter to pass on his knowledge to This resulted in a considerable amount of technical knowledge being lost A good example is the recent theory promulgated by David Hockney that the old masters were able to paint such realistic paintings as they used rudimentary projection techniques to place a guide image on the canvas, overwhich they painted No one knows if he is right or wrong.From the 1800 s on, technical experts such as Charles Eastlake Methods and Materials of Painting and Max Doerner The Materials of the Artist began to impart their wisdom on how the old master paintings were created But the techniques thay had available were very rudimentary, often than not being a case of the expert trying to reproduce a certain style and looking at the painting surface close up The experts proferred their theories and techniques, often with much aplomb leaving no room for doubt Unfortunately they were often quite off the mark they could emulate a style somewhat but never 100% There are too many variables involved even for a discerning eye It has only been with recent advances in scientific analysis, chemical and visual, that a truer understanding of the old master technique is finally being determined Van Wettering s excellent Rembrandt the painter at work book details the findings of extensive research carried out on a number of paintings considered to have been painted by Rembrandt The book is 340 pages, and they still haven t got all the answers But what they have done is to throw in to doubt the theories and techniques of the 19th 20th C experts.There is a welter of information in this book, but if you are trying to perfectly replicate a certain old master painterly technique, and failing to do so, then be warned the experts might not be such experts afterall.All said and done, I do recommend this book for the wealth of information it contains Numerous recipes for mediums, varnishes, mixing paints, painting surface etc., along with a well presented demonstration of each painters technique This book might not quite get you to a 100% replication of the desired technique but it will certainly get you close And as science uncovers knowledge about the real techniques they can be applied here accordingly.It is not a book for beginners a rudimentary understanding of the oil painting process is reqd at minimum Beginners might want to check out Brian Gorst s The Complete Oil Painters also.


  4. says:

    I bought this book based on the reviews here and I wasn t disappointed.What was really good about the book was that the images shown are of a reasonable size In many books the images are too small to really see the painting technique clearly Each painting is also shown in quite a few stages of completion so you can really clearly understand the painting process being demonstrated The descriptions given of each technique were also very clear and well written.What I most disliked about the book was that many of the paintings in the book were done in the 1970s and so looked quite dated.This is a great book, but I wouldn t recommend it for beginners you need to know the basics of painting and colour mixing etc first.It doesn t give the final word on painting like the masters, I m still interested in reading about it, but this book was a great starting point and well worth buying.